Working with Rows & Columns in Excel: How to Hide Them, Show Them, & Change the Height or Width

Follow along with this guide to hide, show, and adjust rows and columns in Excel.

Learn how to hide, show, adjust, and custom size columns and rows in Excel. This article provides step-by-step instructions on how to manipulate rows and columns effectively and efficiently to fit your data needs.

Key Insights

  • You can adjust column width by dragging the column separator left or right. Dragging to the left narrows or hides the column, while dragging to the right widens it.
  • You can also hide a column by selecting any cell in the column and accessing the Column Width option under the Format dropdown from the Home tab.
  • Hiding a column can be done even more quickly using the shortcut Ctrl/0, and unhiding can be done using Ctrl/Shift/9. These shortcuts can be applied to multiple columns at once.
  • You can select the specific cell address of a hidden column to unhide it, or you can select the columns before and after the hidden column and unhide them.
  • If a column is hidden and the headings are not shown, there’s no visual indicator that a column is missing.
  • To ensure all text fits within a column, you can either manually adjust by dragging the column separator, double-click the separator for a “best-fit” adjustment, or utilize the AutoFit Column Width function under the Format dropdown from the Home tab.

Build a Dashboard

  1. Source Sheet

    Raw data lives on its own tab — never touched after import.

  2. Pivot Sheet

    Pivot tables that summarize the source data.

  3. Dashboard Tab

    Charts, slicers, and KPIs that draw from the pivots.

  4. Refresh on Open

    Right-click pivot → PivotTable Options → Refresh on open.

In this blog, we’ll explore the various ways to hide and show rows and columns in Excel, as well as change the height or width. The bulk of the discussion will address columns, but it applies to rows as well (unless otherwise noted).

You can changecolumn width by dragging the column separator (the little line between columns) left or right. To change the width of column D, you drag the separator between D and E left (narrower) or right (wider):

Def1 in Hide Show Rows Columns

In the following figure, the column separator between D and E is clicked (notice the cursor shape), the mouse is held down, and dragged to the right:

Excel2 in Hide Show Rows Columns

Excel Bootcamp: Live & Hands-on, In NYC or Online, Learn From Experts, Free Retake, Small Class Sizes,  1-on-1 Bonus Training. Named a Top Bootcamp by Forbes, Fortune, & Time Out. Noble Desktop. Learn More.

If you drag it to the left enough it will narrow or hide the column (when the width becomes 0 it’s hidden):

Excel3 in Hide Show Rows Columns

Or:

Excel4 in Hide Show Rows Columns

When you let go of the mouse there’s a double-line indicating that column D is missing (this shape varies with the version of Excel used):

Excel5 in Hide Show Rows Columns

But when headings are not shown (from the View tab you can turn them off), there’s no indication a column is missing. Here, it looks like cell D3 is selected, but in fact it’s E3 because column D is hidden:

Excel6 in Hide Show Rows Columns

Another way to hide the column is select any cell in the column, say D1, then on the Home tab, in the Cells group, there’s a Format dropdown which has access to the Column Width:

Screenshot of Microsoft Excel’s Home tab with the Format drop-down under Cell Size visible, showing options like Row Height, AutoFit Row Height, Column Width (highlighted by a red arrow), and AutoFit Column Width.

When you issue the command, you get a dialog with the current width, like this:

Excel8 in Hide Show Rows Columns

And you can type in any number from 0 to 255. When you type 0, the column is hidden.

You can also hide a column via Home/Format/Hide & Unhide/Hide Columns.

There’s also a shortcut to hide a column. Whichever column is selected will become hidden when you press CTRL/0 (a row will hide when you press CTRL/9). CTRL/shift/9 will unhide the column (CTRL/shift/0 will unhide the row.)

All of the above applies to more than one column as well. If you select A1:E1 and use any of the methods, all 5 columns will hide.

Okay, how about unhiding? Again, there are several ways. It’s not as easy to select a hidden column, however! So you can type the cell address into the name box to get the cursor into the column, or, you can press the F5 key (Go To), and type in the cell address. Here, D1 was entered into the name box:

Excel9 in Hide Show Rows Columns

And then cell D1 became selected. You can unhide this with the column width command we saw above, change the 0 which will be there to 8.43, or any number, etc. This is not literally unhiding – it’s resetting the column width to a number. Unhiding will restore the width to what it was before it was hidden! You can unhide it by Home/Format/Hide & Unhide/Unhide Columns:

Excel10 in Hide Show Rows Columns

You can also select the columns before and after the hidden column and unhide them (only the hidden ones will be affected). Here, C thru E is selected:

Excel11 in Hide Show Rows Columns

And finally (for this article), you can carefully position the cursor a little to the right of the D-column separator (in this example) so it looks something like this:

Hide Show Rows Columns example showing of the d-column separator (in this example) so it looks some

Then drag to the right which will reveal column D as well!

Lastly, for this article, suppose you have text like this:

Next2 in Hide Show Rows Columns

And you want to widen column C so it all fits in it. You can drag the column separator between C and D to the right and visually adjust it, or you can double-click the column separator which does a “best-fit” for the longest cell in that column, or you can select a few cells (vertically or horizontally) or the entire column, and use Home/Format/AutoFit Column Width:

Screenshot of the Excel ‘Format’ dropdown under the Home tab, displaying cell size options including Row Height, AutoFit Row Height, Column Width, and AutoFit Column Width.

Enjoy!

Learn more in these courses

How to Learn Excel

Master Excel with Hands-on Training. Excel is the Leading Spreadsheet Application Used by over 750 Million People Worldwide.

Yelp Facebook LinkedIn YouTube Twitter Instagram