Deleting WordPress posts is a breeze, and so is restoring posts should you change your mind. Watch our video tutorial to find out how!
Deleting & Restoring Posts
I’m going to go to the Sidebar Menu, hover over Posts and go to All Posts.
It’s going to give me a list of all of the posts ever created for this particular site.
You’ll notice there’s the Hawaii post that I’ve created. However, there is a "Hello World" post that came from the installation, so I probably don’t want that there. But I might have created another post on my own that I want to trash.
It’s very easy to delete posts. You’ll notice when I hover over any of these list choices, there’s this little sub-menu that pops up. And Trash in the red will allow me to delete this. However, if I click on Trash, not only does it give me the ability to undo this, but the post is not truly gone. You’ll notice I have one post that’s published, but I also have one in the trash.
I can go into the trash, and now if I hover, I can restore and put it back into its time sequence of when it was created initially. However, if I want to get rid of it (I recommend doing so because you’re paying for storage), I can click on Delete Permanently. Once I do this, it’s gone—I can’t retrieve it anymore.
The message now reads, “No posts in the trash," and you’ll notice I’ve got one living post, and it’s published. If I go back here, that’s all we’ve got.
Go Beyond WordPress
Take WordPress to the next level and create engaging and responsive websites. Don't depend on free templates; learn to create your own! We offer web development classes and web design training. Learn through hands-on lessons from our expert instructors. Scheduling is flexible, so start your career growth today!