Loading Profiles & Custom CMYK Conversions

Photoshop Tutorial

Explore the crucial process of managing color profiles in Photoshop, a necessary skill for professionals dealing with printers. Learn how to load profiles onto your computer, compare settings, and convert images to CMYK using different settings.

Key Insights

  • Managing color profiles in Photoshop involves opening specific files, saving them in a specified format, and checking for profiles.
  • If a necessary profile is not available on your computer, extra profiles can be loaded from class files or from a specific location depending on your operating system.
  • For better analysis of color profiles, it is recommended to make multiple copies of the image. This allows easier comparison of the settings.
  • Each image copy can be converted to CMYK using different settings, allowing a comparison of the impact of different color settings on the same image.
  • Comparing the differences between the conversions requires looking closely at each image, focusing on the Cyan, Magenta, Yellow, and Black channels.
  • The importance of choosing the correct CMYK profile based on your output device is highlighted as it can create the right separations/color specifically for that device.

This exercise is excerpted from Noble Desktop’s past Photoshop color managment training materials and is compatible with Photoshop updates through 2018. To learn current skills in Photoshop, check out our Photoshop Bootcamp and graphic design classes in NYC and live online.

What This Tutorial Covers

  • ICC Profiles

    Color profiles describe specific output devices.

  • Convert to Profile

    Translate colors for the print process.

  • Soft Proofing

    Preview how colors will look in print.

Getting Started

  1. Go to File > Open.
  2. Open Smiling Baby-Adobe RGB.tif from the Color Management Seminar Files folder.
  3. Go to File > Save As.
  4. Set the Format to Photoshop and name it Smiling Baby-flat4printer.psd.
  5. We don’t have layers in this file, but if you did, you would flatten the image now (Layer > Flatten Image).

Checking for Profiles

  1. When dealing with printers, you will hopefully be able to get a profile from them which describes their press/paper. You’ll need to load the profile onto your computer to use it in Photoshop. We’re going to use a color profile that you may not have on your computer. To check to see if you have it, go to Edit > Color Settings.

  2. If you can’t see all the options, click More Options.

  3. Under Working Spaces, go to the CMYK menu and see if Light GCR 360 UCR CMYK US Negative Proofing is listed.

  4. Cancel out of this dialog. If it is listed, skip over the next section (Loading Extra Profiles) and continue on. If it is not listed, do the next section.

Loading Extra Profiles

  1. Hide or minimize Photoshop so you can see the Desktop.

  2. Go into Class Files > Color Management Seminar Files, then the extra_profile.

  3. Select the file inside the folder, GNCMYK50.PF.

  4. Hit Cmd–C (Mac) or CTRL–C (Windows) to copy it.

  5. The location you need to paste the profile in depends on your operating system:

    Mac Users

    • Hold Opt and from the Go menu choose Library.

    • Go into ColorSync > Profiles. Paste the file into the Profiles folder.

    Windows Users

    • Go to C: drive, then into Windows > System 32 > spool > drivers > color.

    • Once you’re in the color folder, hit CTRL–V to paste the file into it.

  6. Go back to Photoshop.

Making Multiple Copies so We Can Compare the Settings

  1. Mac users only: In Photoshop, go into the Window menu. If Application Frame is not checked, choose it to turn on the Application Frame.

  2. To make three new copies of the image, go to Image > Duplicate three times. You should now have four copies of the image open, making it easy to compare.

  3. As shown below, arrange the images so you see them all at the same time and set the zoom so you see almost the whole image. To do that:
    • Go into Window > Arrange > 4-up four up.
    • Zoom out a bit so that you can see the entire image in one of the window panes.
    • Go to Window > Arrange > Match Zoom.

    cmyk conversion 4up

Applying the Settings & Converting to CMYK

We’re going to convert each of the images to CMYK using different settings.

Adobe Photoshop Bootcamp: Live & Hands-on, In NYC or Online, Learn From Experts, Free Retake, Small Class Sizes,  1-on-1 Bonus Training. Named a Top Bootcamp by Forbes, Fortune, & Time Out. Noble Desktop. Learn More.

Image 1 (on the Top Left)

  1. Let’s start with the top left image. Make sure you are using the Move tool move tool and click on the image to make sure it’s active.

  2. Go to Edit > Color Settings (Cmd–Shift–K (Mac) or CTRL–Shift–K (Windows)).

  3. Under Working Spaces go into the CMYK menu. Choose U.S. Sheetfed Coated v2.

  4. Click OK.

  5. Now do the CMYK conversion by going to Image > Mode > CMYK Color. If a confirmation message appears, check Don’t show again and click OK.

Image 2 (on the Top Right)

  1. Click on the image on the top right to make sure it’s active.

  2. Go to Edit > Color Settings (Cmd–Shift–K (Mac) or CTRL–Shift–K (Windows)).

  3. Under Working Spaces go into CMYK and choose U.S. Sheetfed Uncoated v2.

  4. Click OK.

  5. Go into Image > Mode > CMYK Color.

Image 3 (on the Bottom Left)

  1. Click on the image on the bottom left to make sure it’s active.

  2. Go to Edit > Color Settings (Cmd–Shift–K (Mac) or CTRL–Shift–K (Windows)).

  3. Under Working Spaces go into CMYK and choose U.S. Web Coated (SWOP) v2.

  4. Click OK.

  5. Go into Image > Mode > CMYK Color.

Image 4 (on the Bottom Right)

  1. Click on the image on the bottom right to make sure it’s active.

  2. Go into Edit > Color Settings (Cmd–Shift–K (Mac) or CTRL–Shift–K (Windows)).

  3. Under Working Spaces go into CMYK and choose the profile you loaded at the beginning of this exercise: Light GCR 360 UCR CMYK US Negative Proofing.

  4. Click OK.

  5. Go into Image > Mode > CMYK Color.

Comparing Differences Between the Conversions

  1. Now that all of the files are converted to CMYK, look for any differences.

  2. Let’s look more closely. One at a time, select an image and then to the Channels panel and view only the Cyan channel, until all the images are showing the Cyan channel. Compare the differences between the images. Choosing different CMYK profiles affects how RGB images are separated into CMYK. Notice the difference between the top two images, which are both for a sheetfed press, but the left is coated and the right is uncoated. Look especially at the shadow area of the woman’s shirt collar.

  3. One at a time, select an image and view only the Magenta channel, until all the images are showing the Magenta channel. Compare the differences.

  4. Repeat this for the Yellow and Black channels to see their differences.

    Wow! Some of them are quite different. Now you can really see how choosing the correct CMYK profile based on your output device can create the right separations/color specifically for that device!

  5. When done, close all files without saving changes.

Learn more in these courses

How to Learn Photoshop

Master Photoshop, the Industry-standard Application for Photo Retouching, Color Correction, and More, with Hands-on Training.

Yelp Facebook LinkedIn YouTube Twitter Instagram