Special Characters & the Glyphs Panel

Tutorial with step-by-step instructions and examples

Improve your understanding of manipulating special characters and using the Glyphs Panel in text editing. This insightful guide provides specific steps on how to insert special characters, spaces, breaking characters, and how to utilize the Glyphs Panel.

Key Insights

  • Special characters like Copyright Symbols and Trademark Symbols can be inserted by navigating to Type > Insert Special Character.
  • For inserting special spaces such as Nonbreaking Spaces and Em Spaces, you can use Type > Insert White Space.
  • You can use Type > Insert Break Character to insert special breaking characters like Column Breaks and Frame Breaks.
  • If a character is not found in the menus listed, the Glyphs panel is another useful alternative.
  • The Glyphs Panel can be used by placing the text cursor where the special character is desired and choosing Type > Glyphs.
  • The Glyphs Panel allows you to change the font and adjust the preview size using the Zoom In and Zoom Out buttons, and characters can be inserted with a double-click.

This exercise is excerpted from past InCopy training materials and is compatible with InCopy updates through 2021. To learn current skills in Adobe Creative Cloud and graphic design, check out our graphic design classes in NYC and live online.

InCopy Workflow Setup

  1. Designer Sets Up

    Designer creates the InDesign layout with named text frames.

  2. Export Assignments

    File → Assignments → New — bundles frames for the editor.

  3. Editor Opens InCopy

    Editor checks out content, writes within the layout's constraints.

  4. Check In Updates

    Designer sees real-time text changes flow into the InDesign layout.

Special Characters & the Glyphs Panel

Inserting Special Characters

  • Special characters such as Copyright Symbols, Trademark Symbols, Em Dashes, etc. can be found by going into Type > Insert Special Character.

  • Special spaces such as Nonbreaking Spaces, Em Spaces, etc. can be found by going into Type > Insert White Space.

  • Special breaking characters such as Column Breaks, Frame Breaks, etc. can be found by going into Type > Insert Break Character.

  • If you cannot find a character listed in one of the above menus, use the Glyphs panel using the instructions in the section that follows.

Adobe InDesign Bootcamp: Live & Hands-on, In NYC or Online, Learn From Experts, Free Retake, Small Class Sizes,  1-on-1 Bonus Training. Named a Top Bootcamp by Forbes, Fortune, & Time Out. Noble Desktop. Learn More.

Inserting Characters Using the Glyphs Panel

  1. Put the text cursor type cursor edit text where you want to insert the special character.

  2. Go to Type > Glyphs.

    glyphs panel

  3. The font selected will be the same as the text you are currently editing. If you would like to change the font, do so at the bottom left of the panel.

  4. To enlarge/reduce the previews, use the Zoom In glyphs panel zoom in and Zoom Out buttons glyphs panel zoom out at the bottom right of the panel.

  5. Double–click the desired character to insert it.

Learn more in these courses

How to Learn Graphic Design

Master graphic design with hands-on training. Graphic design is the production of digital and print media that follows certain conventions of style, color, and typography to evoke a positive reaction from its viewers.

Yelp Facebook LinkedIn YouTube Twitter Instagram